Happy Birthday to Thoughts on Boxing


Today marks three years since I began writing this blog, having no idea what I wanted to do with it and still a little fuzzy on the concept of “blogging.” The writing has gone in different directions and through various styles, but I think the consistent thread has been my interpretation of the significant fights in boxing, as seen through the subjective lens of an amateur boxer. I say subjective because I’m sure I don’t know as much as I think I do, and I do take a somewhat outrageous standpoint on certain issues to provoke a response,  but I’m still learning, I’m still in the gym, and I’m still watching.  It’s still the sweet science to me.  So I’ll keep writing.

In keeping with the spirit of the writing, I should highlight the weekend’s upcoming event, which exemplifies boxing for boxing fans.  None of the names headlining Showtime’s loaded card on Saturday are marquee names in the pop culture sense.  They’re all just names boxing fans know and styles they can can predict.  Sure, even an MMA fan or two will perk their ears up when they hear “Adrien Broner” and “Lucas Mathysse” come out of the broadcaster’s mouth, but very few will remember Andre Berto.  Losing a key match against Victor Ortiz, Berto squandered what momentum he had in the division, coming back in his next fight with a win, only to comprehensively lose the next two consecutive fights, both to good-but-not-greats.  Mathysse and Broner are in slightly better positions, but both have lost key matches before achieving real stardom or consistency.  None of these guys will be reason enough to draw an audience that doesn’t normally watch boxing, and the opponents are so unremarkable that they aren’t even worth mentioning in that context.  For boxing fans, though, this is a solid night of sports.  You’ve got Rau’Shee Warren, the painfully slowly developing olympian, on the undercard.  You’ve got two overconfident punchers who thought they would remain undefeated for eternity, until they took on better competition and lost their most recent fights.  In Berto, you’ve got fading talent with a critical opportunity to resuscitate his career.  None of the opponents on the card are any more than the term implies, but if the inflated egos haven’t been reigned in, opponents could start to look like more than that.  For Berto, the reverse, the damaged ego, is his problem, so we’ll watch to see if he can keep cool under pressure, and if he does get into rough waters, whether he will sink or float.  On top of all of that, all these guys get into the ring to throw punches, so we’re guaranteed a night with at least a few interesting exchanges.

To everyone who reads Thoughts on Boxing, thank you.  I think the initial reason for this was just that I couldn’t find enough people to talk boxing with, so the comments, the opinions, the conversation–have all been a great outlet for me, a microcosm for the great sense of self, of serenity, and sense of purpose we find in boxing.  For the moments when it’s more sour than sweet, when it seems like those who shouldn’t have to struggle are always the ones who do, and we feel helpless, the memories here will remind me why we study the Science.

Categories: Thoughts On: | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

