Wow.


There’s no other word for a special moment in sports history like this.  Alvarado-Rios more than lived up to its reputation.  I can easily recall the last two fights that even approached the feeling this fight inspired in me: Mayweather-Cotto and Angulo-Kirkland.  And yet I think I can safely say this was better.

I’ve seen the Bowe-Holyfield trilogy.  I’ve seen almost every available piece of footage from the six Robinson-Lamotta wars.  I’ve watched my favorite fighter, Micky Ward, in every moment of his three epic battles with Arturo Gatti.  And I’m still awestruck by this fight. I want, I need to see the rematch.

Mike Alvarado threw almost 150 punches in a single round, at Jr. Welterweight. Mind you, these weren’t Paul Williams arm-punches, these were full-torque heat-seekers that twisted Brandon Rios’ head back and forth so many times, so violently in rounds four and five I thought he might lapse into a coma between rounds. Literally, I was afraid he wouldn’t be able to continue.

I was generally in agreement with the judges and with Harold Lederman. I thought Rios had won at least two rounds, possibly three, but I had no suspicion that the fight would end the way it did.  If you haven’t seen it yet, find it.  Watch it.

When the winner announces at the end of the fight that he had been stunned but didn’t show it, you know he’s telling the truth.

Fight of the Year.

Categories: Thoughts On: | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Wow.

  1. Terrific fight. Rios must have a chin of Iron, some of those right hand he took from Alvarado, I don’t know how he just walked through them.

    Like

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

